Muliti-Password Systems

tatchley
tatchley
Community Member
Agile Staff, what are your thoughts on a Multi-Password System in which data is separated into groups and each group has its own password? In your endeavors to provide a password managing solution, I'm sure you have considered this idea at one point or another. Why did you opt to provide the current system? In my mind, although it would require a little more memorization, this method seems more "safe" because if a portion of the data was compromised it wouldn't necessarily compromise the other sets (assuming the compromised portion didn't include your email information, and further assuming that you didn't have two-factor identification in place, but that's another topic). While I have a Master Password that consisting of dice-words that for a password in the upper "Excellent" range of your scale, I have a nagging fear that someone will be watching over my shoulders and memorize my password (I think this is a greater threat than my computer being stolen and mercilessly being put through days of intensive brute-forcing, as you all like to joke about). I would be at-ease is I knew all my data was not tied to the same string, so to speak.

Comments

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni
    edited October 2012
    The concepts of data sharing, multiple data files, and multiple security levels within 1Password have been suggested a number of times and they are certainly very interesting ideas. :)

We have looked at these at various times, but any one of them would require some substantial changes to how 1Password works right now. The biggest downside I see (just speaking for myself here) is increased complexity and therefore a high barrier to entry.

I think Jeff's closing remarks in his "Convenience is Security" post are applicable here: