Why is authenticator app required for 2fa?

Options
mvsjes2
mvsjes2
Community Member

I'm fairly new to PMs in general and 2fa in particular. I bought a couple of security keys and am trying out various PM providers. I was wondering why 1password insists on using an authenticator app before allowing physical keys to be added. To me, having the keys separate from your phone provides more protection for apps residing on your phone. If the password to access an account is being displayed on the same device that your account is on, it's not much protection for that particular device. So I'd like to have just a couple of key fobs and no authenticator app, but I can't seem to do that on 1password.

I also found adding the fobs very confusing. I didn't see an option for fobs on my family plan, just the authenticator app, so upgraded to the group plan, and still didn't see the fob option. So I finally found out you had to add the authenticator first. I may have upgraded unnecessarily.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• plttn
    plttn
    Community Member
    edited March 2021
    Options

Currently, not all clients support authenticating with U2F (Security Key), so OTP is necessary for those devices that can't use U2F.

The catch with 2FA in 1Password, is that it's exactly what it says on the tin. It is only for authentication, one time when first signing into your 1Password account on a given device (given that you haven't clicked "require 2FA on next sign in" in the web settings for that device). The security behind your vault being secure is the encryption strength provided by your Master Password, and your Secret Key. The 2FA, be it U2F or OTP is not involved in the decryption of the vault, merely authenticating that you are who you say you are to 1Password to authenticate a new client.