Use Windows App and/or browser extension on Windows

Options

I'm new to 1Password. So far, I am only using the browser extension and not the Windows desktop app. Can the two co-exist? If not, what are the benefits of using one over the other? I see posts about incompatibilities, the classic extension, an X version, and I'm left confused about the best approach.

Related to this, I've seen a reply from 1Password staff to another question regarding where automatic backups on Windows are stored. When I look there, I don't have the folder leading me to believe that I need the desktop program. Also, the description on how to export my information doesn't work with the browser extension for me.

Any clarity would be appreciated.

Thanks!!!

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• ag_yaron
    ag_yaron
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hey @mpfc75 , Welcome to 1Password! :chuffed:

I am only using the browser extension and not the Windows desktop app. Can the two co-exist?

Yes, they can co-exist. 1Password in the browser is there to help you save new logins, generate new passwords and autofill your existing logins when you visit a website.
    The desktop app allows you to easily manage your vaults, move items from one place to the other, easily edit items, mass move/delete etc. It is more comfortable to manage your 1Password vaults and items in the desktop app (for me at least). Granted, I don't use the desktop app as often as the extension in the browser, but it is really nice to have when you need to quickly edit something or move stuff from one place to the other.

You can definitely keep working with 1Password in the browser alone, without the desktop app. It's a matter of personal preference at this point.