ATP with Spot-On Critique of 1Password 8

Options

Interesting listen from ATP who outlines a lot of the high-level gripes and specific bugs and jankiness of 1Password 8. I think they are pretty fair and constructive with their criticisms:

https://atp.fm/444

The discussion begins at around 45 minutes in.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided

Comments

• XIII
    XIII
    Community Member
    Options

Thanks for mentioning this.

Have not listened to ATP in a long time, but will give this section a try.

• Fooligan
    Fooligan
    Community Member
    Options

I listened to the episode and I have some quibbles with their take. They are fortunate to primarily live in the Apple ecosystem, so they can have a more militant opinion on how apps should look and behave on Apple's platforms. But, I am one of the unicorns where my day job is 90% Linux and 10% Windows. At home, I use a Mac or Linux VM, iPhone, and an iPad. I, for one, am looking forward to 1Password looking and behaving the same on all of these platforms.

1Password 7 was a great app and I am very quickly starting to like 1Password 8 on the Mac. The Quick Access feature is awesome. There are some rough edges and absent features in the Early Access, but we should probably hold judgement until 1Password 8 is officially released.

I have tried a bunch of Catalyst apps and wholly disagree that 1Password should be ported using it. I am sure that 1Password would make one of the better Catalyst apps out there. But, based on my anecdotal sampling of Catalyst apps, the proverbial winds are not blowing in the right direction for that technology.

• FCNV
    FCNV
    Community Member
    Options

@Fooligan

Calling their commentary "more militant" seems disingenuous.