1Password should prefer to update existing login rather than saving a new one

I noticed that 1Password often defaults to saving a new login rather than updating an existing login when I change a password. It feels like updating an existing login is usually the intended action.

Here's an example of when I changed my password on JetBlue:


1Password Version: 8.4.0
Extension Version: 2.1.8
OS Version: Windows 11 21H2 build 22000.318

Comments

  • ag_yaronag_yaron

    Team Member

    Hey @AnonymousHero ,

    1Password will suggest saving a new login if it finds hints or new info that does not exist in a current login (e.g. a new username or a different URL).
    It might be that the page contains some keywords in the HTML that hint a new username or something.

    Can you please reach that page again (or any other page where this happens), then instead of autofilling a new password, right-click anywhere on the page, select the "1Password - Password Manager" option from the context menu -> Help -> Collect page structure. It will download a file to your computer.

    Send us that file to [email protected] alongside a short description of the problem and a link to this discussion here so we can connect the dots :)

Leave a Comment

BoldItalicStrikethroughOrdered listUnordered list
Emoji
Image
Align leftAlign centerAlign rightToggle HTML viewToggle full pageToggle lights
Drop image/file