Firefox: import all passwords into 1Password?

Options

Hello! I am new to 1Password, and am still in the trial period.

Transferring passwords stored in Firefox to 1Password one at a time is a tedious business. Is there no way to import all the Firefox-saved passwords into 1Password in one go?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided

Comments

• MrC
    MrC
    Volunteer Moderator
    Options

On the Desktop version of Firefox, you can export saved Logins as CSV, and from there you can use a Desktop version of 1Password, or 1Password.com to import CSV files.

I don't believe this can be done via the Mobile version (I've only looked at iPadOS).

What do you have?

• Dogmatix
    Dogmatix
    Community Member
    Options

I have a PC running Windows 10, the desktop 1Password, and the 1Password extension for Firefox (which I prefer) and for Chrome (which my wife prefers, as it synchronises on her Android tablet & smartphone). It occurs to me that if I am going to continue with 1Password, I'll also have to import her passwords - I suppose Chrome can also export saved logins in the same way?

• Dogmatix
    Dogmatix
    Community Member
    Options

"On the Desktop version of Firefox, you can export saved Logins as CSV" - yep, done that. That's the easy bit.

"and from there you can use a Desktop version of 1Password [...] to import CSV files." Ah... where is the "import CSV files" function? It's not in "Settings", it's not in the pull-down menu on my name. Export, yes, saw that, but where is import?

• MrC
    MrC
    Volunteer Moderator
    Options

@Drogmatix,

I think 1Password 8 does not yet have importing. I presume you have a 1Password.com account, where you can import CSV.

Otherwise, you'll need to use 1Password 7 for Windows.

• Dogmatix
    Dogmatix
    Community Member
    Options