1Password requires login at every Windows startup

Dogmatix
Dogmatix
Community Member

Hello! I am new to 1Password and am still in the trial period, wondering if 1Password is going to work for me.

I use a Windows10 PC privately. May wife also uses the same PC, on the same Wondows account. Now, when I start the PC up, and start my browser (FireFox), the first time I want to login to a website, 1Password asks for its (master) password before it will work. I have managed to dissuade it from doing that if my PC is locked, but not after starting it up or after a restart.

I carefully chose a strong password for 1Password. I did not know that it was going to ask for this password to start 1Password, and for the first use in each session. This is an annoyance to me, but for my wife, this will be a "why the heck did you have to install this stupid thing" issue. "Firefox saved passwords perfectly well without such antics", she will say. And I fear that if this issue cannot be resolved, it'll be goodbye, 1Password.

So: is there any way to get 1Password to start working without entering the 1Password password?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided

Comments

• Tertius3
    Tertius3
    Community Member

The short answer is: no.

The slightly longer answer is "may be, kind of". First, make sure you install and use the desktop client of 1Password and activate the browser connection. Otherwise you will not only be asked at system login but also every time you start the browser.
    Second, you can activate Windows Hello to use a short PIN to log in to Windows instead of your hopefully longer Windows password. 1Password is able to also use the Windows Hello PIN if it requires entering the password to unlock. However, the very first time after you boot your machine, you still have to enter the 1Password master password to unlock 1Password.
    There is no workaround.