1password X on Windows 10?

Options
robert1p
robert1p
Community Member

I'm new to 1password, but I see there are two browser extensions. I decided to install 1password X, but I don't find it in the Chrome Web Store. On the https://1password.com/downloads/windows/ page, I find a button to install 1password for Chrome, with a note below it stating "Looking for the classic extension?". This leads me to believe I should be installing the non-classic 1password X, but after it completes I find nothing in Chrome or the Extension itself that indicates it is 1password X. In the extensions' settings it says v2.2.1. Can someone please clarify?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: 2.2.1
OS Version: Windows 10

Comments

• Hey @robert1p:

Great question! 1Password X was renamed a while back, and judging by the version number you've provided, you should be all set with our most up to date extension to use 1Password with. As long as you have this extension, you should be all set: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/1password-–-password-mana/aeblfdkhhhdcdjpifhhbdiojplfjncoa

Jack

• robert1p
    robert1p
    Community Member
    Options

So 1password and 1password X both existed before. And I presume you're saying 1password X has been renamed 1password. (Which I assume explains the reference to the "classic extension".) There's already enough confusion with the two versions. I'm surprised there's not a clearer description for folks to follow. It would help a lot if the https://1password.com/downloads/windows/ page had a footnote/link to explain it all. Same thing for the Chrome Web Store. I wonder how much time is wasted by new users like myself trying to google for a clear answer. I hate to see such issues detracting from what could be a more positive impression.

• robert1p
    robert1p
    Community Member
    Options