1Password Autofill service with Jetpack Compose

tadfisher
tadfisher
Community Member

Hi!

I'm an Android engineer working on a team with a Jetpack Compose app in production. Compose provides some rudimentary Autofill support, but we're seeing some issues in conjunction with 1Password for Android that aren't occurring when using other Autofill services (we've tested with Google, Password Store, and Firefox). Notably:

1. 1Password will fill an email address field correctly (with AutofillType.Username and AutofillType.EmailAddress), but it will not fill the associated password field. We've verified the autofill ViewStructure is populated with both fields, with the correct autofill hints and valid virtual view bounding boxes.
  2. Upon calling Autofill.requestAutofillForNode() on the password field, 1Password does not display, either using GBoard's inline suggestions or its own popup.
  3. When (2) occurs, 1Password will no longer display for the email address field, and in fact will no longer display at all until the app is killed and restarted. In this state, we are receiving the EVENT_INPUT_UNAVAILABLE event from AutofillManager, and the Compose Autofill API is reporting that autofill is not available.

These issues have been observed on the following devices:

1. Samsung Galaxy S8 (API 29)
    • Stock Samsung keyboard
    • GBoard, with and without inline suggestions enabled
  2. LG G8 (API 29)
    • Stock LG keyboard
  3. Google Pixel 6 (API 31)
  4. Google Pixel 6 Pro (API 31)

We've tested the production version (7.9.1) and the beta version (7.9.2.BETA-1).

Our app is on the Play Store here if you would like to take a look. I can also provide a debug build if that would help.

I can take some time to create a minimal project to reproduce the issue, but I'd like to know if that would be useful first. Also, is there any additional debug data I can provide?

Thanks!

1Password Version: 7.9.1, 7.9.2.BETA-1
Extension Version: Not Provided