Apple Watch stalls-out when a plethora of authentication requests come through

Options
Ryan Parman
Ryan Parman
Community Member

As a software engineer, I regularly use iTerm with multiple tabs, and multiple split-screen sessions per tab. So after I reboot my computer and re-open iTerm, I suddenly get hit with 10–40 1Password prompts in quick succession as each session in each tab asks for my permission.

When wearing my Apple Watch, those auth requests end up getting routed to it. Problem is, Apple Watch can't keep up. Having one request after another, after another, after another… Apple Watch just quits trying. I end up having to click "cancel" on the macOS prompt (failing that auth), and letting the next one come in, which I can approve with the double-click on the watch button.

But they inevitably come in too fast, so I end up having to cancel several requests. Which means that I then have to go back to my terminal and refresh the sessions one-by-one.

If I take my Apple Watch off, and set it on my desk, I get a simple click-button prompt on my Mac. Yes, there are still 40 of them, but they don't stall-out. I also have Touch ID available, but 1Password appears to prefer Apple Watch over it.

1Password Version: 80800094, on BETA channel
Extension Version: N/A
OS Version: macOS 12.5 Beta (21G5027d)

Comments

• Ryan Parman
    Ryan Parman
    Community Member
    Options

Actually, maybe this belongs in the Apple Watch category.

• Ryan Parman
    Ryan Parman
    Community Member
    Options

Ping.

• floris_1P
    edited June 2022
    Options

The SSH category is the right place! Having many consecutive prompts is not the intended experience, this should not be happening and we're investigating the issue. We'll keep you posted here.

To help us out, could you describe what kind of processes are running in those iTerm tabs? Is there something polling in the background by any chance?

• Ryan Parman
    Ryan Parman
    Community Member
    Options