IP8 "Default Vault for Saving"

Options
2»

Comments

• peet1
    peet1
    Community Member
    Options

@Dave_1P @ag_mike_d, an update to the status of reimplementing this core security feature?

1Password 8 is significantly less secure because the removal of default vaults. I manage 1Password for multiple tenants. Since 1Password8, Every-Single-One of them has personal passwords accidentally saved in saved in shared vaults.

I'm a competent SysAdmin with more than 20 years experience and have been using 1Password for 15 of those years. Because of 1Password8, I've personally saved passwords in shared vaults that have no business receiving those passwords.

I understand aligning features and code among platforms. But for the love of all that's holy do not make the product less secure while doing so.

• jfordthompson
    jfordthompson
    Community Member
    Options

Adding my vote to this. Please reintroduce this!

• Hello @peet1, thanks for your feedback! I'm sorry I don't have any updates to share from the product team as to the status of the implementation of an option for a default vault for saving. We're continuing to advocate for customers and ask that you keep an eye on the 1Password releases page for feature updates. We appreciate your patience.

@jfordthompson - I've included a vote for you in our tracked feature request.👍

ref: IDEA-I-292

• eeiciap
    eeiciap
    Community Member
    Options

@Dave_1P

Dave and the 1Password team, although I appreciate that you are listening to our feedback, I fear that you’re missing the point by treating this concern as a “new feature request” (along with the usual secrecy of feature implementation.)

This is not a new feature at all—it is an important security feature that all of us have relied on in earlier versions of your product. It is a regression.