1Password 7 to 8, my experience ... the same for others?

xco
xco
Community Member
edited December 2022 in Mac

To start, I used to love 1Password and recommended it to friend, families and colleagues. In fact, I have been using the app since 2007 on Mac and iOS devices. It was a great, reliable app. I have been using Macs since 1984. Yep, a long time.

To finish, I really "hate" 1Password v8 after upgrading this week from v7. It is incredibly flaky and ill conceived. The interface design for a variety of reasons, including the use of color is a step backwards. I will now start searching for alternatives.

I spent several hours transferring data and files from iCloud to 1Password cloud. Getting the browser app to work properly on Chrome tonight took two hours. I still cannot say exactly how I did it. Never a problem with 1Password v7. I also use 1Password in Safari, on multiple Macs.

Someone needs to go back to the drawing board, and keep the marketing department away. The app requires some good human interface design thinking, to consider more than what sells, but rather what is practically useable day in and day out. The detail is important, very important. After all, 1Password's goal should be to recruit and keep subscription paying customers over the long term.

It should not take a longtime computer professional, who has also run software startups, so much time and effort just to get the darn software upgrade running properly. At the same, it has my life's passwords and documents. If the software seems flaky, what about my records?

I realize one problem. Someone, perhaps more clever than I, decided not to write native software for the Mac in v8.

The problem is, 1Password is limited by the very capabilities of that tool set. "Penny wise, pound foolish," is a classic English phrase. I do wonder whether the marketing folks and company leadership would have been better served by not short changing the Mac community.