Why is it so monstrously difficult to manage two 1P accounts on the same computer?

I'm relatively new to 1P (one month or so) but am an extremely experienced computer user/programmer. I recently came over from LastPass and am very impressed with 1P's functionality and interface. Well, with about 90% of it. The other 10% is a nightmarish quagmire of teeth-gnashing and hair-pulling.

My major difficulty is trying to maintain two 1P accounts (mine and Mom's) on the same computer. She has her own computer with the 1P Chrome extension but I often need to make changes to items in her vault and it's far preferable to do that locally. She has a separate login and secret key, of course. But if, on my own computer, I open her vault (in the 1P standalone app) then my own browser extension switches to her account. Switching back is not intuitive, to put it mildly. I just spent 20 frustrating minutes trying to figure out how and finally just completely uninstalled/reinstalled the 1P app and extension. Can this seemingly simple task be accomplished more simply? This is one way that LastPass, for all its problems, did a much better job than 1P. But I'm happy to be corrected.

1Password Version: (uninstalled)
Extension Version: 2.7.0
OS Version: Windows 8.1
Browser:_ Chrome 109.0.5414.120

Comments

• Hey @scerwin,

I'm sorry for the trouble.

1Password in your browser integrates directly with your 1Password app which is helpful in most cases as you only need to sign in to your 1Password account in one place. This does however mean in your scenario, if you sign in to your Mom's account then you will also be signed in in your browser. You can see which account you are signed in to if you click on the 1Password icon in your browser toolbar and then click the 1Password icon in the top left hand corner of this window.