turn off auto save login

Options
KazuT
KazuT
Community Member
in Mac

With the 1password extension (2.24.2) in Google Chrome for Mac, when I sign into a website for which I do not want to save my login, it offers to save my login. I log into this website frequently. How do I tell the 1pw extension to stop offering to save my login?


1Password Version: 8.10.32
Extension Version: 2.24.2
OS Version: macOS 14.5
Browser: Chrome

Comments

  • Dave_1P
    Options

    Hello @KazuT! 👋

    Thank you for the question! You can turn off the auto-save feature for 1Password in the browser by following these steps:

    1. Open your browser.
    2. Right-click on the 1Password icon in your browser's toolbar and click Settings.
    3. Click Autofill & save.
    4. Turn off "Save logins automatically".

    Let me know if that doesn't work. 🙂

    -Dave

  • KazuT
    KazuT
    Community Member
    Options

    Which option applies to the popup that shows up after I've typed in my username & password? I want 1pw to keep offering to save new logins as I create them. I just want it to stop showing the popup after I re-enter a username & pw for a website for which I do not want to save my login info. The popup seems to be something new that started showing up an update or two ago.

  • Dave_1P
    Options

    @KazuT

    Thanks for the reply. Are you referring to the following pop-up:

    image

    If you are then the steps in my previous reply will turn it off for all websites.

    I just want it to stop showing the popup after I re-enter a username & pw for a website for which I do not want to save my login info.

    Was there a reason why you don't want to save the login in 1Password? I'd recommending saving all of your logins in 1Password for the best experience.

    -Dave

  • KazuT
    KazuT
    Community Member
    Options

    Yes, that's the popup. Will 1pw continue to offer to save new logins for other websites when I create them, and only stop showing that popup?

  • Dave_1P
    Options

    @KazuT

    As long as you keep "Offer to fill and save passwords" turned on then you'll continue to see 1Password offer to save your login in the inline menu below the password field on the page:

    image

    Let me know if you see different behaviour. 🙂

    -Dave

  • KazuT
    KazuT
    Community Member
    Options

    I would like to continue seeing the inline menu to save a new login. I just want to stop that popup on the website where I do not want to save my login info. It seems like the popup is something new, that started with a recent update?

  • Hi @KazuT - that's correct, the auto-save feature was added in a recent update to 1Password in the browser. Let us know how you get on with the change to your settings recommended by Dave and we'll be here to help if there's any questions.

  • zYx
    zYx
    Community Member
    edited June 14
    Options

    This is a bit annoying. This feature was previously disabled and now it's coming up again, everywhere.
    There's no need.
    Why reintroducing this again under a different "feature" name?
    (This applies browsers on all OSes)

  • Dave_1P
    edited June 14
    Options

    @zYx

    The new autosave feature is something that a lot of customers have requested over the years but it's not a feature that existed previously in the modern version of 1Password in the browser. Can you clarify the feature that you're referring to? This new feature shows a prompt in the upper right corner of the browser window:

    image

    In any case, you can turn the feature off by following the steps that I posted above. 🙂

    -Dave