1Password 4 not unlocking automatically

Options
JeromeC
JeromeC
Community Member

Hi

Before 1Password 4 there was an option avoiding to type the master password, that is I trust my Mac session security enough (+ the fact that I go to screensaver soon enough after inactivity and require password to open the session again), it was great.

Now I can't find such an option anymore in the version 4, I have to type that master password often enough so it bothers me.

Plus each time I reboot my Mac, I am asked to allow 1Password in the Keychain, I always answer "Always authorize" but at the next reboot, again.

I don't know if both problems have a link, it could be.

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• Tom Hedeen
    Tom Hedeen
    Community Member
    Options

I have a similar problem. I have my master password in a hidden spot on my computer that I would copy and paste to open 1Password. Now the login does not let me paste. I have to type my password every time, and I don't like the inconvenience.

• sjk
    sjk
    1Password Alumni
    edited November 2013
    Options

Hi guys,

Please refer to @MikeT's reply that addresses 1Password auto-(un)locking behavior: here. And elsewhere he mentioned:

It's a security risk to store your 1Password master password in the OS X keychain as clear text, so we're not going to bring this back. There are other reasons but this is the main one.

About this, @JeromeC:

Plus each time I reboot my Mac, I am asked to allow 1Password in the Keychain, I always answer "Always authorize" but at the next reboot, again.

If you run Activity Monitor do you see Password Helper (from 1P3) running? Also, if you run Keychain Access and search for 1Password do you see any matching entries?

About this, Tom Hedeen:

I have my master password in a hidden spot on my computer that I would copy and paste to open 1Password. Now the login does not let me paste. I have to type my password every time, and I don't like the inconvenience.