Generating New Passwords

Options
u2jimbo
u2jimbo
Community Member

I am a rookie. I have had a very productive day loading ~49 total items - 24 being Logins. All of these items were loaded with their original passwords. These passwords are old, weak and duplicates. Now, I would like to implement new, strong, and unique passwords. I looked for a description of a process but have not been successful. I am apprehensive about this step because I fear if I do something wrong I could lock myself out of a lot of sites.

Is there a preferred process to minimize risk and increase the possibility of only doing this once?

Comments

• u2jimbo
    u2jimbo
    Community Member
    Options

I have been thinking more about my concern regarding new password generation. For example, I was just creating a new login for a website I have been visiting for a few years. When I go to enter the password in the password field, I am given the option to create a new, unique, long and unrememberable (my new word) password. Generally, at any website, if I want to change passwords I must login and go to the profile page, enter my current password then enter my new password twice. If I am creating a login script in 1Password with a new password how does it become 'valid' relative to the profile page?

Similarly, when I went to login to another website that I had not yet entered into 1Password, while I was entering my username and password a popup window (IP4mini?) opened asking offering the opportunity to both create a new password and to enter the information into 1Password. A great service, but I don't understand, again, how the new password is incorporated into the website's profile page.

I hope these examples better clarify my concerns.
    u2jimbo

• DavidB
    DavidB
    Community Member
    Options