I'm curious why the application requests this permission. I haven't seen it required before and it sounds somewhat suspicious.
I passed on your concern to the development team. They mentioned that we needed this permission to clear the application's memory when the application was sent to the background after the user selects Menu -> Exit.
We have made changes to this method and this permission will no longer be needed. These changes will be available in the next update.
Let us know if you have any other questions!
Could it be for HockeyApp and the loading of a newer beta?
You're welcome. :)
In general I really like if app developers clarify in the readme / description of the app why and what permissions the app needs (especially WHY, because the google play store clarifications are not usable for "end users" in many cases - or at least not clear).
Maybe you could keep this in mind when releasing the app in the play store? I think it would help a LOT to avoid misunderstandings.. (and discussion trolls ;) )
We will definitely have a good amount of documentation when we make it to official release. Part of beta testing is testing documentation too, or looking for help documents and not finding them. :) I've seen some nice brief descriptions in the permissions dialog on some apps, hopefully we can do something both places so it's clear what we're asking for and why. Thanks for the heads up!