Doubtful newbie (but I want to be a convert!)

Options
Stephanie Ng
Stephanie Ng
Community Member

Hi there

(BIG disclaimer - I am not a techie person as will soon become apparent!)

I previously had my own personal method of making up and remembering passwords which wasn't the most secure and when told about 1Password, thought I'd found password/log-in nirvana!

So have just downloaded 1Password4 for my macair only and have installed the Chrome extension, and saved my log-ins. I currently have approximately 60 log-ins saved.

I have looked at the Support docs, and searched the discussions and my questions are a fair bit more basic as I'm trying to get my head around what this can/can't do.

1. 1Password doesn't appear to support non-browser programmes? I.e. Evernote, Dropbox, Skype - so I still need to remember these passwords? (though I can of course save them in a note in 1Password). From this post http://blog.agilebits.com/2012/08/19/more-than-just-one-password-lessons-from-an-epic-hack, it seems I should still remember certain passwords.

2. When generating new passwords for log-ins, these "strong" passwords are obviously difficult to remember - does 1Password save it down anywhere? I.e. should I ever need to manually log into a site, can I just cut and paste the password from 1password into the site log-in page, where the password is always "hidden" i.e. I can't actually see the *$&#(#FDJSFKD password combination. I had trouble with my apple id, as I had to enter it in several places on my iphone/ipad etc and in the end, I just made up one that was easy to remember.

3. I haven't looked at installing for my iphone/ipad yet - how does 1password work with apps?

Apologies in advance for some of these very basic and conceptual questions! I would be very grateful for any helpful responses/clarifications.

Many thanks
Steph

Comments

• Stephen_C
    Stephen_C
    Community Member
    Options