iCloud syncing with spouse.

Options
GFellow
GFellow
Community Member

Hello,

I am relatively new to using 1password. My spouse and I are trying to share 1 account across various mac / iOS devices. I thought we were syncing successfully over iCloud, but the difference in number of saved logins on our respective devices suggests otherwise. Today I had to sync her phone with our iMac over wifi. Is there a way to sync a single database of logins between all devices by using just iCloud? My wife's iphone has a different iCloud identity than mine. So, how do we sync between the devices? I am not using vaults at this time. Thank you for your help.

Comments

• hawkmoth
    hawkmoth
    Community Member
    Options

I am almost 100% sure that there isn't anyway to share information on iCloud between users with different AppleIDs. You and your spouse won't be able to sync to the same data unless you both use the same identity. This is an Apple limitation.

If you're willing to switch to Dropbox, you would be able to share data between you, regardless of your AppleID difference.

• GFellow
    GFellow
    Community Member
    Options

OK. I use dropbox, but I prefer to not upload any sensitive files there. I might consider using it, but I would need to know more about how the sync file is handled. Does it reside only temporarily in Dropbox or does it need to stay there? I will use dropbox on occasion for sharing sensitive files, but I encrypt them locally and I delete them as soon as the other party has accessed them. I may just have to periodically sync her iphone over local wifi. Thanks for the input.

• hawkmoth
    hawkmoth
    Community Member
    Options