Step by Step instruction on how to change my online bank password to one generated by 1Password

Options
PeterC
PeterC
Community Member

I know it appears daft but is there a Step by Step instruction on how to change my online bank password to one generated by 1Password. I think I know how but its too important to get wrong
regards
Peter

Comments

• hawkmoth
    hawkmoth
    Community Member
    Options

Are you familiar with changing other passwords with 1Password? Or is there something special about how your bank works that makes you more cautious than usual? That would help us know how to be more helpful in answering your request.

• PeterC
    PeterC
    Community Member
    Options

I'm brand new to 1Password, I don't think there's anything special to the bank system. It would be nice to see the process for something like eBay.

• hawkmoth
    hawkmoth
    Community Member
    edited June 2014
    Options

Well, each web site is a little bit different from every other one, but generically it often goes like this:

1. Log in to your account as you normal would.

2. Find the option to manage your passwords and open that.

3. Usually you will be asked there to enter your current password again, even though you've already done that.

4. Then there usually are two fields to enter your new password and confirm it.

5. For the new password, I open mini with the key icon in the menu bar. It will usually show a line for the website I'm logged into and a line or two farther down, I see the Password Generator.

6. Hover the mouse over the line for Password Generator. A new password appears in the fly out window, like this:

7. Note that there is a button to the right of the new password that says Fill. Click that and your new password should be filled into the new password field and the confirm password field on the web site.