Help with updating existing passwords

Options
gtrplr2
gtrplr2
Community Member
edited May 2014 in Mac

Hello to all. I am a complete noob at this program and it shows. I have not been able to reset one single password in over 2 hours of trying. The sites I visit where I currently have pass words ask me to log in and then when I go to change my password it will email me a new password to log in with, and I use that new password and log in and then it will ask me to enter my current password (the one I just received) and then to enter the new password and verify it. When I get to the new password part I go to the password generator and use it to auto fill in the password. I will do that and then save the info to the website. I then log out to try the new log in, and I get the message that the password does not match the one on file or something to that effect on every one I try to change. I just can not figure out why I am having such a problem, as I hoped the program would simplify my life (and it might once I can figure out what the heck I am doing wrong) but right now it is killing me! It is even happening here on this site, and I have never had a password here before.

Comments

• DavidB
    DavidB
    Community Member
    edited May 2014
    Options

@gtrplr2,

Here are some instructions that might help:
    learn2.agilebits.com/1Password4/Mac/en/KB/update-password.html

• Megan
    Megan
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @gtrplr2‌

I'm sorry to hear that you're having trouble with 1Password right now. I hope that @DavidB's link helps you out - it's a useful guide.

Essentially, when you start using 1Password, there are two main things that 1Password can help you with:

• Saving your login information for all those sites that require you to sign in every time you visit, and
    • Helping to generate strong passwords when you want to update your current login information or log in to a new site.