1Password success story, and a UI suggestion

Options
stevenjklein
stevenjklein
Community Member

(Sorry for such a long post, but I hope you'll indulge me by reading the whole thing.)

I'm a full-time Mac consultant, with 29 years experience working with the Mac. Somewhat ironically, my wife is a technophobe who doesn't much like computers and doesn't use her Mac for much beyond email. She knew it was possible to check her bank balance online, but she she could never remember how to log in to her bank's website.

Every few days she'd ask me to check it for her, which I did.

Then I got smart. I installed 1Password 4 on her Mac, and set it up with just a single login — her bank. I taught her how to log in using 1Password mini (which took about 5 seconds), and now she logs in to her bank account all by herself! It makes her feel more empowered.

So thank you, AgileBits!

Now, here's my UI suggestion. It's great that you have a "favorites" option, but it would be even better if logins could be added directly to the 1Password mini menu, without having to select a submenu.

Right now her 1Password mini menu has only 3 items — the search field, Password Generator, and Logins. And Logins brings up a submenu with only a single item in it. Even if I made her bank a favorite, she would still have to use the submenu to get to it.

I realize you have to balance feature changes against added complexity, and perhaps her use is so atypical that many of your current users wouldn't find it useful.

I'm a 1Password power user; I store my s/w licenses, credit cards, identities, secure notes etc. in it. But I am not the average Mac user. (If all Mac users were like me, I wouldn't have any clients!)

Every app developer has to try and find the right balance between a large feature set and ease-of-use.