Sharing options for sensitive information.

Options
ominous_bob
ominous_bob
Community Member

I'm fairly new to using 1password and this is my first time on the forums so forgive me if this is a common question but, what is the point of having sharing options within the app? I mean I can see how some users might like and benefit from those options but as for myself, "send as plain text" is not something I want to see next to all my sensitive information. When I bought the app I did so after much research and a big upside to 1password is that everything is stored locally and not cloud based. So worst case scenario, someone figures out my master key which, albeit unlikely, could potentially happen if I were to be lazy and use something simple like a birthday, pets name or a single digit as my master key. But even if they were to gain access, they would have a hard time remembering any of the passwords generated within the app. They would have to either take pictures of, voice record, or write down each individual password. Or so I thought. But the sharing option makes it just that much easier for a snoop to seize more information in a shorter amount of time. I realize all of this is unlikely as they shouldn't be able to get past the master password in the first place. But stranger things have happened. And seeing as the master password is the only password a user needs to remember, it could potentially be guessed by someone they know or someone could be inconspicuously looking over their shoulder. Even if you're not concerned about people snooping around, there is still always a chance of user error. I know I've messaged and emailed someone other than the intended recipient before and I would imagine most everyone else has as well. It just seems logical that there would be an option to disable the sharing function in the app. If for no other reason than to put an end to rants like this one before they even start. :) Don't get me wrong, I love the app and it has helped