Different logins for different university subdomains [resolved: created new items w/ multiple URLs]

Options
Eitan Freedenberg
Eitan Freedenberg
Community Member
edited August 2014 in Mac

Hi there.

I'm a graduate student at an American university. The university has different subdomains for its different departments—HR, library, email, and so on. For some reason, I'm able to use the same login for some but have to create a different login for others. So what I have looks like:

library.university.edu — login #1

hr.university.edu — login #1

email.university.edu — login #2

journals.university.edu — login #3

As it stands, due to the subdomains sharing the "university.edu" domain, I'm never able to get a form autocomplete out of 1Password. The app seems overly concerned with the domain, and doesn't look more specifically at the subdomain. I just want to tell it, "Hey, 1Password, I know this looks like a generic 'university' site, but look: it's the library! Use the library one automatically! It's cool, go right ahead!"

I'm not sure how to better describe the issue, but hope someone out there knows how I can train 1Password to be more granular with subdomains.

Thanks!
Eitan

Comments

• Stephen_C
    Stephen_C
    Community Member
    Options

Maybe this post explaining how the lenient url matching option works will be of some assistance. You'll find the option under 1P4 > Preferences > Browser.

(Sorry I can't explain it myself: I've always found it a little difficult to understand the wording of that option!)

Stephen

• sjk
    sjk
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi Eitan,

Have you tried changing the Lenient URL matching option that @Stephen_C‌ mentioned in his reply? In addition to the post he referred to, @JasperP‌ describes the criteria for item sorting in 1Password mini: here (post #10). I hope that helps. :)

Let us know if you have other questions about this -- thanks!

• Eitan Freedenberg
    Eitan Freedenberg
    Community Member