backing up to icloud or dropbox, not making sense

Options
JosueAlexander
JosueAlexander
Community Member

Hello, Im new to 1password, hopefully you guys can clarify something for me, I understand that 1password syncs to icloud, so in theory if someone steals my device I can get my 1password data on a new one.

BUT how am I to do this if all my passwords are saved to 1password, included my apple ID password.?

Isnt that the purpose of 1Password, that you only have to remember that 1 password to unlock all the others?

My apple ID is probably the most important password that I want to be 1password generated and store it there, impossible to remember or crack.

Same thing with dropbox, if you sync to dropbox then you have to also remember your password for dropbox other wise you cant get to your backup

So really this should be called 2Passwords, 1 to acces the app and 1 to acces your backups.

I think the only reliable way to back up (IF you really want to use this app to remember just 1 password) is manually backing up the restore file.

Am I missing something? I probably am, Ive been using it for only 2 days.

thanks for any help you can give.

Comments

• Hi @JosueAlexander,

While 1Password allows you to remember just one password (your 1Password Master Password), there are some cases where it might be helpful to remember a couple more.

If you rely on iCloud or Dropbox for access to your data, you may want to use a memorable password there.

How do you make a good strong password that you can also remember? We recommend following the same advice we give for creating a Master Password: Toward Better Master Passwords

You may also be interested in this blog post: More than just one password: Lessons from an epic hack

Please let us know if you have any other questions. We're always happy to help! :)

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni
    Options