Restore Help!

Options
tcook1911
tcook1911
Community Member

I have been using 1Password for a few years now and i love it! However, I had to rebuild my Mac today and reinstall all my app, including 1P, but the files I have which i assumed was my backup will not restore.

The file is called "1Password 2015-01-28 173016 (311 items).agilekeychain_zip" and has a size of 48MB. I have installed the most recent 1P version for Mac, v5.1 (510035).

Do I have the wrong file for restore or do i need an older version of 1P??

Tim

Comments

• thightower
    thightower
    Community Member
    edited January 2015
    Options

@tcook1911

First off make a backup of that backup and store it safe. If thats your only copy we do not want anything to happen to your data. So make sure you have a duplicate or 2 of the data in a safe place.

It sounds like a version 3 backup file.

I can say the following:

1. It is not a 1Password 5 backup as they end in 1p4_zip (left over name from version 4)
    2. Its not a 1Password 4 as they also ended in 1p4_zip
    3. That leaves version 3

Make sure and remove 1Password 5 , then reboot and then install version 3 from the downloads page https://agilebits.com/downloads Look in the legacy section near the bottom for version 3.8.22 under the Lion and Snow Leopard section. 3.8.22 will run on later systems including 1Password 4 and 1Password 5 although its untested on 1Password 5 and therefore unsupported.

1. You can remove 1Password 5 by dragging it to the trash. Then rebooting to make sure no traces of it were left running on your system.
    • DO NOT use an app cleaner as they can be over zealous and remove your data and their backups which we do not want !
  • tcook1911
    tcook1911
    Community Member
    Options