May I ask you 1Password developers a technical question about cross-platform data sync strategies?

Options
ahmiao
ahmiao
Community Member

I am a developer who wants to develop an app across multiple platforms (iOS, OS X, Android, Windows etc). And I have no idea about the way to store data and synchronize them between platforms reliably.

Use SQLite to store the data and synchronize the database file by Dropbox?

If a SQLite database is in used, it seems impossible to use Core Data in iOS and OS X.

Any ideas about the question?

Really appreciate your help.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @ahmiao,

What works for one app won't necessarily work for another, but I'm happy to give you general info about what we've done that I think might be worth mimicking.

For starters...I think it's important to separate the data the app uses directly vs what's used for sync. These two things have different constraints, and trying to find a single solution that works for everything, and all platforms is going to be very difficult. The cool part about doing this is that you're then free to find the best solution for each platform. We use sqlite on iOS and OS X, but we could just as easily use CoreData if we wanted. On Android we use sqlite as well, but it actually has a different database schema that works best for it.