Feature request: Mac-to-Mac network sync

Johnny_paranoid
Johnny_paranoid
Community Member

1Password is great, for what it does, but I wish syncing locally were easier.

iCloud sync only works if I bought it from the Mac App Store. Dropbox requires an external service, which I don't want to use. Wifi sync only works for Mac->iOS, not Mac->Mac.

So that leaves me with "Folder sync", which works fine, but is kind of a pain to set up. I've got to export from Mac A, copy file to Mac B, and then import on Mac B. When I create a new password on Mac B, I have to reverse the process.

It would be really great if 1Password had Mac-to-Mac syncing! I mean, it already does, but it would be great if it were easier, without having to sign up for Yet Another Sync Service. (Yeah, I know I'm the only person in the world who doesn't keep their whole life in Dropbox. Shoot me.)

I'm no security expert, but I'm not sure what would be difficult about it. Instead of saving a copy to the folder called "Dropbox" and checking that location for updates, do exactly the same but let me pick a Finder network drive, right? My Macs already know how to look at each others' user folders, because that's built in to the Finder. You could make it fancier, but that's all it really needs to do. It's essentially what most Folder Sync users do now, except we have to put the files in the right places manually.

anyway, thanks for listening!

1Password Version: 5.0.1
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: 10.10.3
Sync Type: Folder (see question)
Referrer: forum-search:Will you ever support Mac-to-Mac network sync?

Comments

• diamondguy
    diamondguy
    Community Member

I completely agree. You're not the only one who needs/wants (and expected, given the advertising I read before buying 1Password) true local sync. Some work environments restrict cloud access, making that impractical, unreliable, or impossible.