Still wondering about security against social engineering

GabrielZ
GabrielZ
Community Member

I am still wondering what measures Agilebits has in place in-house , in order to secure my confidential information against "social engineering".

I don't have any suspicions and no bad experience, but as a computer scientist I hear frequently that one of the most vulnerable links in the whole data security chain is the human factor.

No offense intended and keep up the good work,
Best regards,
Gabriel.

1Password Version: 6.1
Extension Version: 4.5.3
OS Version: OSX 10.11.3
Sync Type: iCloud

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni

Hi @GabrielZ,

For personal vaults stored on your Mac or in your iCloud or Dropbox account we have no access. We can't access even the encrypted copy as none of your data is available to us ever. It's this very reason why we also cannot help somebody regain access to a vault as there is no way to reset a Master Password or recover a vault due to data loss.

For vaults stored in 1Password for Teams and 1Password Families it's not that different. Even though we store the encrypted vaults on our servers we have no way of accessing the contents. We've designed it so we can't help a person recover access to a vault and instead had to work on a way where a team can have people that fulfil that role. We've gone to great pains to try and ensure that even if we store an encrypted copy of the vault that we never have access. This is important to us and not just for reasons such as social engineering but because of the responsibility of holding data for others.