Using 1p6 get a message on startup saying 1p is damaged but it runs fine.

mmdupas
mmdupas
Community Member

Also looked at log and see messages about the 1p4 helper. ElCap is my OS.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:Using 1p6 get a message on startup saying 1p is damaged but it runs fine.

Comments

• Hi @mmdupas,

Could you please tell us exactly what the error says? (or provide a screenshot). I'd like to look further into this.

Thanks,
    Kevin

• mmdupas
    mmdupas
    Community Member

Hi Kevin,

I read on the forum about disabling/enabling the safari extension 4.5.6 and after that the message is now about needing an updated version. I'm new to this so let me know if the screen shot is readable to you.

• nathanvf
    nathanvf
    1Password Alumni

Hey there @mmdupas,

Sorry that you are experiencing this issue.

That is a warning if you were using a version of 1Password and then went backwards and ran a earlier version of 1Password.

We do this because sometimes we have to upgrade some of your 1Password data and it might not be compatible with previous versions of 1Password.

Is it possible that you have done this? For example you might have been on the Beta version of 1Password, and then went back to the regular release of 1Password?

It's also possible that you have multiple versions of 1Password installed on your computer. You can search your computer for "1Password" and see if you have multiple copies somehow. Sometimes people have a copy in their applications folder and another in their Downloads folder for example.

If you find that there are multiple copies of 1Password on your computer, you should select them and go to "get info" and see which is the most recent version of 1Password. After that make sure to move all other copies to the trash and have the most recent version of 1Password to your Applications folder and then restart your computer.