Feature Request: Higher Limits for Password Generator

kbeckman
kbeckman
Community Member

Hey, AgileBits.

Just a quick feature request here... I'd like to see higher limits for the password generator feature. Right now, the slider for password length has a maximum limit of 50. I'd like to see that expanded to 128 characters at least... I have a few of specific use cases:

1) I'm a Ruby web developer and the de facto standard for password length in the leading community authentication library is 8 - 72 characters (https://github.com/plataformatec/devise/blob/master/lib/devise/models/validatable.rb). Some documentation examples show how to configure limits of 8 - 128 characters.
2) I recently bought a new router for my home network. The WPA password supports 8-63 characters... When I tried to use the password generator for this I could only get a max password of 50 characters.
3) LastPass supports higher character limits for password generation.

Thanks!

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Megan
    Megan
    1Password Alumni

Hi @kbeckman,

Thanks so much for the suggestion, I’ll pass it along to our team!

• mike429
    mike429
    Community Member

As a work-around in the meantime, couldn't you just (for example) generate three 50-character passwords and concatenate them? That should be just as random as an algorithm that generates a single password of length 150. Then the question would become: Is there a limit to the length of passwords that 1PW can store?

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni

@kbeckman @mike429,

There is no limit to the length of passwords 1Password can store.

However, do keep in mind that a 23-character alphanumeric password is already an uncrackable-in-the-age-of-the-known-universe 128 bits of entropy. Going from 23 characters to 50 characters is going from "impossible to crack" to "even more impossible to crack".