Feature Request: Scheduled password review

sallyb_online
sallyb_online
Community Member

I've been using 1 password for around 5 years and use it on my Mac, iPad and iPhone. Some of my passwords are very long-term while others are relatively short-term and used for signing up to a conference or event.

Please can you consider including a 'password review date' field. This could be fixed (e.g. 3 months, 6 months, 1 year, 2 years, 5 years etc) and remind the user to review the password (e.g. delete it, update the password, or make no changes).

Many thanks

Sally

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@sallyb_online: It's certainly something we can consider, but keep in mind that there's no legitimate security reason to change a long, strong, unique password for an account unless it's been compromised.

If you change the password and then someone steals the website's database, they'll have the new password.

If you don't change your password and other website is compromised, it will not affect any of your other accounts, provided they all have unique passwords.

The only possible use for password reminders would be for accounts which have misguided "security policies" which require periodic changes. The same above applies in these situations, but of course when someone else is calling the shots we're at their mercy...and in those cases that sort of feature could certainly help. ;)

• sallyb_online
    sallyb_online
    Community Member

Hi Brenty,

Thanks for this. One of the other reasons is that I often use 1password for signing up to conferences etc which will be redundant in a few months. So, it would also help to 'prune' some the passwords that are not needed in the long termm.

• Megan
    Megan
    1Password Alumni

Hi @sallyb_online,