Feature Request: Links

jdehnert
jdehnert
Community Member

As a Linux System Administrator I have several items that are logically associated. I'm trying to avoid creating too many tags because I have discovered that with too many I forget what tags I have. It looks like I have around 100 or so currently.

One thing that I would like to see is the ability to create links between similar or associated items. For instance, I have over a dozen servers running MySQL databases. On each server I have a root password, usually a few passwords to connect applications to databases, a database administrative password, application admin and client passwords, etc. I'd love it if I could create hierarchical links between these entries so that if I bring up a server, I can see that it runs say 3 applications. If I click on an application password I can see links to my other accounts for that same application, and to the database that supports the app and etc.

Folders were good for this to an extent, but I' don't like having to dig through lots of folders, and folders don't always allow for some kinds of links to work with others.

Thoughts?

Thanks,
James "Zeke" Dehnert

--
-= Eschew Obfuscation =-
"Life is racing. Everything else is just waiting"

1Password Version: 6.3.2
Extension Version: 4.5.8
OS Version: OS X 10.11.6
Sync Type: dropbox

Comments

• Hi @jdehnert ,

Thanks for writing in with your request! So in essence, you'd like to reference other items from a single item. We do currently do have that feature if you have a 1Password Account (for Individual people, Families, or Teams). More information on accounts is available here: https://1password.com - but basically in any item you can link one or more "related" items, label the link how you choose, and click on them to go to that item.

That feature currently is not available in traditional standalone vaults. (Ones that aren't part of an account).

Cheers,
    Kevin

• jdehnert
    jdehnert
    Community Member