I found a super simple bug in Mac "Share To Email" Feature! You need to look into your URL encoding!

tuna_hp
tuna_hp
Community Member

Hi 1Password developers,

I am a new software developer myself and I was excited to find a bug that I would know how to fix.

I went to share a password by email, which I understand works differently in recent versions of 1Password (you no longer encrypt the email message).

However, I noticed that when my password share message popped up in a Chrome Gmail window, that the actual password was cut short. It didn't display the full password that was in the 1Password client, only the first few characters. Upon closer inspection I noticed that the character that the email choked on was "+" symbol.

To me, with a little experience programming links that generate pre-formatted emails using mailto:, and with similar features that also use URL encoding like pre-formatted share messages for Facebook and Twitter, this tells me that there's something wrong with your URL encoding, or possibly that you have to account for escaping special characters.

My recommended fix would include adding tests that verify the results of the email output including a variety of special characters.

If you email me at the address associated with this account, I'll provide my Github handle and you can credit me on your branch.

1Password Version: 6.3.2
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OS X 10.11.6
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @tuna_hp ,

At first glance, it looks like you are correct. The URL to add the item to 1Password appears to be properly encoded, but the entire content itself is not. The most common mail app is Mail, of course, and it accepts the unencoded + ok, but it appears Thunderbird, and obviously, a Chrome GMail window, does not.