Creating a new additional vault

Buch3100
Buch3100
Community Member

Hello,

1. If I create a secondary vault, say for work passwords, it says it will have a new password separate from my main password and I will continue to use my main password to open the program. Does this mean that his new vault is double encrypted or encrypted twice via a second password? I am no encryption expert, but I thought the encryption key is based upon the password, so I should use a large one for increased security. That said, my main PW is over 30 characters. Can I make my second vault password something quick and easy like a four digit passcode? Would this second vault and password be properly protected by the large main password encryption? Please advise on this practice.

2. Do you have a better way to output (preferably printing a paper copy) all of my logins and passwords? Currently the software wants to print over 25 pages, bc it is printing all the web form data etcher each login. I only want to print off the login name, username, and password. Please advise if there is a different way to do this or if you are working on a more printer friendly export system for a future update.

Thanks!

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @Buch3100 ,

Thanks for writing in with two excellent questions. I believe I have answers for you:

1. When a vault is created, it is encrypted with a generated key. That key is then encrypted with the password assigned to the vault. So, in the case of your primary vault, the key is encrypted with your master password. When you make a secondary vault, the key used to encrypt the vault is encrypted with the password you make for that second vault. But a copy of the key is also encrypted with your master password outside of the second vault. This allows your master password to decrypt both vaults.