1P occasionally dies and "fixes" problem by setting Primary vault to "None"

Options
bdiggs01
bdiggs01
Community Member

I have been using 1Password for many years with Dropbox for sync.
1Password has died a few times over the past few weeks with a
pop-up window indicating that there was a problem and would like
to "ignore" the issue or "fix" it. When I click on "fix", it changes the
Primary vault to "None". I then change the Primary vault selection
from "None" to Dropbox and select the 1Password.agilekeychain,
which is in a non-default directory within Dropbox, and click
"Merge with Existing". The sync completes relatively quickly and
then I am back in business. Though I'm concerned about the
quality of the data, given that 1P keeps having this issue from time
to time.

Why is 1Password's fix to remove its reference to the vault in Dropbox?

Thanks in advance!

Brad

1Password Version: 6.5.2 (652002)
Extension Version: 4.6.1 (Safari)
OS Version: macOS 10.12.1
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• Hi @bdiggs01 ,

The quality of the data shouldn't concern you. The nice thing about encrypted data is either it'll decrypt or it won't. It won't "degrade" over time. Also, Dropbox stores the sync data, but the main copy of your data is stored on your Mac, and not in Dropbox. But based on what you are describing, it sounds like something else is modifying the 1Password file. What other devices do you sync this file with? And do you share it with another Dropbox user?

Thanks,
    Kevin

• bdiggs01
    bdiggs01
    Community Member
    Options

Thanks!
    3 Macs, 2 iPhones and 1 iPad share the Primary vault.

• bdiggs01
    bdiggs01
    Community Member
    Options

Clarification. All the aforementioned devices share the Primary vault through a single Dropbox account that is not shared with others.

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @bdiggs01,