Set up on a new Mac

philbeavsan
philbeavsan
Community Member

I think I am struggling to understand your terminology and hence am having trouble in setting up 1Password on my new Mac. I have downloaded your latest MacOS software, but then the sign in page is asking me for:
Sign in address: ?? Where can I obtain this please?
email address: OK
Account key: This I assume is my license key - OK
Master Password: OK
Also, although I have been using 1Password for a few years now, I dont seem to have an "account". Or is this the support forum account ?
Sorry if I am being a bit thick here, but if you could help me out please it would be appreciated.
Thanks

1Password Version: 6
Extension Version: 6.5.2 (652003)
OS Version: 10.12.1
Sync Type: dropbox

Comments

• Hi @philbeavsan ,

We sell both licenses and subscription accounts. When you start 1Password do not click the option to sign into an account, as you don't have one. If you previously synced your data elsewhere, choose the "Find My Data Elsewhere" option and then select where your data is located (e.g. Dropbox). It will then ask for your Master Password and download all of your data again.

Cheers,
    Kevin

• philbeavsan
    philbeavsan
    Community Member

Cheers Kevin,
    That has solved my issue for me and all is now working well.
    Thanks very much
    Philbeavsan

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni

On behalf of Kevin, you're very welcome! Hopefully you're all set now, but if you have more questions or need anything else, just let us know. We're always happy to help! :)

• gsimon
    gsimon
    Community Member

I am having a similar issue as I have a license and do not have a 1 password account. I have downloaded Password 6 to my new Mac and have received the license and clicked the link. It says it is now registered but when I open 1 password it asks for me to put in my account key which I cannot find. I tried to find a backup on my old computer but no luck.

• gsimon
    gsimon