How to get backup off of website?

lithigin
lithigin
Community Member

I'm new to this, trying to get this to work and aggravated that this supposed magical software has taken at least 15 hours just to get passwords imported without duplicates into the proper vaults, and get this nearly functional before we can start making our PW more secure.

On this laptop, I am running Mac OS 10.9.5 and couldn't figure out why extension doesn't work. I then downloaded 1Password version 4. However, in trying to install it, it doesn't do the QR reader thing to log into my account. I don't use iCloud or Dropbox. This Mac and Restore from Backup, as well all the documentation about restoring from backup presumes I have a backup. It tells me how to export from backup using a File menu, which sounds like from the downloaded program. Which I'm trying to log into. I have 600 passwords and a half dozen vaults on this web version; how do I get them off of the site?

I've been reading this documentation for nearly an hour and it's all self-referential. "You don't need a backup; there's a better way!" "Just log in to your account!" But I can't log in without a backup, so what am I supposed to do here?

https://support.1password.com/new-device/

1Password Version: 4
Extension Version: 4.6.3.90
OS Version: 10.9.5
Sync Type: laptop

Comments

• Hi,

The confusion seems to be between the two ways 1Password currently supports syncing:

• If your logins are stored in a local vault (which doesn't seem to be the case), a backup is needed from either another device or a backup file specifically. This is the only option in 1Password 4 as it isn't until 1Password 6 that accounts were added.