Any news on bringing folder support to subscription model?

Options
pwhelper4tx
pwhelper4tx
Community Member

I've been a registered user of 1Password for a while now. Drawn to the syncing method of the subscription model, I ran the trial version for a month. While I know some balk at the subscription model, I myself see the benefit -- no, I'm not a shill -- and as a software developer myself I can also appreciate the company needing a revenue stream to continue supporting the product. However, the thing that just killed it for me was discovering that going to the subscription model resulted in the LOSS of a feature I found quite valuable: folders. I know there has been some confusion with respect to folders and those who feel that employing folders with tags is somewhat redundant. But, folders enable one to store data in a hierarchical manner making the view and management of the data therein so much easier, and the loss of that feature has greatly impacted my use of the 1Password so I returned to the old model which thankfully has preserved the feature. So my "open letter" question here on the forum to Agilebits is: have there been any evolving internal discussions about possibly bringing folder functionality to work with the subscription model? Any change of heart?

1Password Version: 6.6.4
Extension Version: 664002
OS Version: macOS Sierra 10.12.4
Sync Type: WLAN

Comments

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @pwhelper4tx,

Thanks for writing in to ask us about this!

As you already know, in 1Password.com accounts, folders were replaced by tags, largely because tags serve the same basic function as folders. Also, the advantage of tags is that you can assign multiple tags to each item (whereas an item could only be added to a single folder).