How does my.1password.com work?

Options
acee
acee
Community Member

I am new to 1password, using your cloud service to sync my account data using the Windows desktop application.

However, because I don't want to install the desktop application on my work computer and because I have a Windows 10 Phone (for which there is currently no available app), I am forced to use the my.1password.com website to log in and access my vaults when not on my personal computer.

What I was curious about, however, is that most of the 1password literature about our encrypted data suggests that encryption is end-to-end and that it is never transmitted "unencrypted". Also, it is suggested that AgileBits at no point ever has our master password or our secret key.

When we access our account data via the my.1password.com website, does this still hold true?

A conventional web application would typically do all processing on the server-side (i.e. using this approach, this would mean that my.1password.com takes our master password and our secret key as form input, decrypts the data on the server side, and then presents it back to the client).

It seems that this would be undesirable (since in other places, AgileBits claims that the designs are meant to assume conventional transport-level encryption such as SSL/TLS are compromised), and I'm thinking that given the level of thinking your team demonstrates, that this is probably not how you handle our data on the my.1password.com web application.

The other alternate approach I could imagine you used is that the my.1password.com website contains all logic required to do the data decryption given a master password and secret key on the client side (e.g. via JavaScript). In this way, it seems that the end-to-end encryption feature of 1password is preserved?