What is the weakest link?

scottwoz
scottwoz
Community Member

Hi, I'm new to 1PW and so far I'm very impressed. As a natural skeptic, my main concern was putting all my eggs in one basket, though operating on a desktop and after everything I've read thus far gives me hope. I just want to clarify that I'm not 'missing the point' somewhere. Apologies if this has been asked before, but surely, in order to sync between Mac OS and IOS devices, isn't entering your master password on the 1PW website taking a huge risk? Just how secure is the site? My other question is with iPhone and iPad: in order to be more practically accessible, opting to use the numeric code rather than the master password each time its needed, does that not compromise security also?

Thanks in advance for any advice or information.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @scottwoz,

Thanks for taking the time to write in.

Even when logging into 1Password.com your Master Password and Secret Key are not transmitted to us. You can read more about the security design of 1Password here:

About the 1Password security model

We also have a fairly detailed technical white paper available here:

1Password Security Design White Paper

My other question is with iPhone and iPad: in order to be more practically accessible, opting to use the numeric code rather than the master password each time its needed, does that not compromise security also?

Yes, of course. :) Security and convenience are always at odds. You have to decide how you want to balance these. Certainly requiring yourself to type your Master Password every time you launch 1Password is the most secure option, but unless you choose a weak Master Password... not a very convenient one. And of course if you choose a weak Master Password, you're defeating much of the point. :smile:

Ben

• scottwoz
    scottwoz
    Community Member