Accidentally installed 1Password 7, can I restore 1Password 6?

Options
tgoas
tgoas
Community Member

I've been using 1Password 6 for a few years without a membership. My team purchased 50 seats of 1Password Mac + Windows Bundle. It's great, does everything I need!

After reading the announcement today, I downloaded 1Password 7, which replaced my version of 1Password 6. This action promptly locked me out of my passwords 😧. I arrive at this screen:

I do not have any of this information ☝️ (I'm locked out of my password manager, remember?). Only thing I have is a onepassword-license file I received when I first signed up, but the information in it does not match these fields.

I do not have a membership, Maybe later, but for now I just want my passwords back.

I didn't realize this was a paid upgrade for 1Password 6 users. The blog post doesn't mention that before linking to 7's download. Again maybe later, but for now I just want my passwords back.

Seems 1Password 6 has been removed from the download page and App Store. I've read through existing posts here, (especially this one), but haven't found a solution that doesn't end in me paying money to get my passwords back.

If you can't already tell... I'd really like my passwords back until I can decide how to move forward with 1Password. I'm frustrated that it wasn't made obvious for all customers what would happen when 1Password 7 is installed.

1Password Version: 6.latest
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OS X 10.13.4
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• tgoas
    tgoas
    Community Member
    Options

Thankfully there is a way! I found this answer posted 1 minute before this question.

1PW7 should leave a zipped version of 1PW6. So just quit 1PW7 (quit completely, not just the main app), trash it, delete trash, and unzip 1PW6.

And it does! I opened up my Applications folder and there was a 1Password 6 zip file. After removing 1Password 7, I was able to unzip and use 1Password 6.

• cqellis
    cqellis