Can each user import their own existing 1Pasword 6 or 5 vaults into a family account of 1P7?

sdes
sdes
Community Member

I've been using 1Password for many years, now on 6 on Mac & iOS and 4 on PC, persuaded my mother & partner to start using it a few years back too, Mac and iOS, so now there are three separate "vaults", one for each of us. If I were to switch/upgrade to 1Password 7 family account, can each of us import our own vault into that shared account or is it only the bill payer / main user's vault that can be imported?

(The "additional information" section only seems to allow one device / OS to be listed, but there are at least 5 Mac OSX computers, 1 windows computer and 5 iOS devices that currently access the data)

1Password Version: 6.8.9
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OSX 10.13.5
Sync Type: Dropbox
Referrer: forum-search:import multiple vaults

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@sdes: I'm not sure I understand most of your comments here, so if you can clarify what you're looking for that would be appreciated (for example, what "additional information" are you referring to?)

But the fundamental question I can answer:

Can each user import their own existing 1Pasword 6 or 5 vaults into a family account of 1P7?

Yes! With a 1Password Families membership, each family member you invite has their own account with their own Personal/private vault which only they can ever access. So they'd just need to follow this guide to migrate their existing data to their new account:

Move your existing 1Password data to a 1Password account

I hope this helps. Be sure to let me know if you have any other questions! :)

• sdes
    sdes
    Community Member

Hi brenty, thanks for the response, yes, I think now clear - each person can import their separate data to a new 1PW7 account - all good!