Is there a way to NOT store passwords online?

yoner
yoner
Community Member

Hello. I'm a long-time 1Password 6 user and I'm currently using the trial of 1Password 7. I was required to create a new online account in order to use 1Password 7 and I was shocked to see that my vault was uploaded to Agile Bits's servers without my express permission. I'm a software engineer and I see this as an serious vulnerability. I do NOT want ANY of my passwords or vaults stored online; instead, I want my vault to be decentralized and synced only when my devices are on the same wifi network. Basically, I want 1Password 7 to function the same exact way as 1Password 6. Is this possible? If not, I wont be upgrading and I'll strongly discourage others from doing so due to security reasons. Thanks in advance for your prompt reply.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni
    edited July 2018

@yoner - I'm sorry for the trouble you're experiencing just now in getting upgraded to 1Password 7 for Mac.

I'm a long-time 1Password 6 user

First off, thank you -- we really appreciate our longer-term users and that's why I want to make sure we get you taken care of, whatever that ends up looking like.

I was required to create a new online account in order to use 1Password 7 and I was shocked to see that my vault was uploaded to Agile Bits's servers without my express permission.