Disaster Recovery

Options
nasht00
nasht00
Community Member

So I’ve been using 1Password for many years now. I have it on my iPhone and on my Mac, using Dropbox sync.
Almost all of my passwords are random generated. I don’t remember them. I’m dependent on 1P.

It’s been fine so far. But lately I’ve been thinking. What if tomorrow someone steals both my phone and computer? Or a fire burns them? I’m stranded somewhere with no access to them.

Let’s say all I have is a public computer, and my master password safely in my head.

Would you like to share tips to prepare for such disaster scenarios?

So far I was thinking of generating a secret short url that I will remember, to download the OPVault. Then I’d need to somehow install 1P on this public computer etc..

Comments

• danco
    danco
    Volunteer Moderator
    Options

It's really best not to use a public computer in this case, they are fundamentally unsafe. You would probably do better to buy a cheap cell phone and use that if you were stranded.

One of the benefits of the subscription model that AgileBits are pushing hard (there are a good many other benefits) is that it allows you to reach your passwords using a web browser if you wish, and the data is stored on AgileBits own server (with a local copy).

To use 1PW with the subscription you need both a Secret Key (generated for you the first time you use 1PW) and a Master Password (chosen by you).

The Secret Key is needed once on each device you use 1PW on, and can be recovered on any such device.. For disaster recovery you will need to be able to access it somehow, perhaps written down in a safe deposit box or kept with a friend or even a note in your wallet (which is fairly safe, as a thief would probably not recognise what it was for, and even if they knew it was a 1PW Secret Key they could get nothing without your email address and Master Password).

The Master Password is needed from time to time even if you normally use TouchID.