Lost! Trying to sync from my 1password on Mac 3.8.22 to a new iphone 8

skp
skp
Community Member

Hello! Hoping you can help me out. I am on a macbook air , running MacOS Sierra 10.12.6 .
i've been using 1password on my computer for many years, i have version 3.8.22
for a long time, 1password has synced to my iphone. but i've recently gone through several new phones and now i am stumped.
I'm trying to sync the program on my computer to the phone.
i can't tell how to see the version of the app on my phone, but the app is empty.
the app is set to sync to iCloud but the mac program syncs to dropbox.

i'm afraid i'm not computer savvy enough to figure this out!

do i need to re-install the app?
do i need to update the program on the mac? i'm afraid to lose info !

thank you,
shira

1Password Version: 3.8.22
Extension Version: 4.7.3.90
OS Version: OS Sierra 10.12.6
Sync Type: iCloud and dropbox (?)

Comments

• skp
    skp
    Community Member

based on your earlier help with the same issue it seems, i'm installing the dropbox sync on my iphone app. how will it know to sync with my current dropbox archive from the mac program?

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni

@skp - I'm sorry for the confusion just now, shira! 1Password 3 for Mac is very, very old as computer applications go (it was introduced in 2009!), and I'm a little surprised to hear you've even been successful getting it to work on macOS Sierra. None of the modern versions of 1Password for iOS can sync with 3.8.22 on Mac, by any of the means of sync we had available at that time; you will need to upgrade your version of 1Password for Mac before you can sync successfully with 1Password for iOS.