Is there a downloadable manual for 1password for Mac?

Options
nayak
nayak
Community Member

I am new to 1password and I find it a confusing new system. It seems that every note in the online instructions refers to something that I don't know. It seems that to use 1password you have to already know how to use it--before you start!
I like the security of it, and a kind friend helped me get started, but I can't call my kind friend every time I try to use it.
One question is: my wife and I can use the same passwords for some online activity, but how do I set up 1password (with the same Master password) on her computer? I don't really need the family account, because we each do not need separate passwords for the sites that we both use in common.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Welcome to the forum, @nayak -- and to 1Password! I'm sorry for the confusion.

...we each do not need separate passwords for the sites that we both use in common.

True -- but that's exactly what the Shared vault in a 1Password Families account would be for. You don't need separate passwords for sites like the family Netflix account or similar shared-credential websites...but I'd bet you each have your own Facebook, Instagram, Gmail and plenty of other accounts. If you share a 1Password Individual account, you'd see ALL those passwords, jumbled together. It can be confusing if there are three or four different logins for Facebook (for example), all in a row, each one for a different person. That's where your Personal vault comes in: you keep things that are yours only -- where you DO have separate login credentials from your family members -- in the Personal vault, and you keep shared credentials in the Shared vault.