Master password stopped working on iOS client

Options
thebeard
thebeard
Community Member

I've been using 1Password on iOS for several years now, and recently registered for 1Password.com. Recently I inadvertently disabled TouchID on my iPad Mini and now I find that I can't log in to the 1Password client on my iPad, but I can still log in successfully to the 1Password.com site and view my bookmarks there. (I've just successfully used it at 1Password.com and viewed my bookmarks online, but I can't use that same Master Password to access my 1Password iOS client.)

My inclination is to delete the 1Password client from my iPad Mini, reinstall a new blank copy of the iOS client, then log into that using my 1Password master password and let the iOS client download my bookmarks to the iOS client.

Given that I know my password for the online account definitely works, am I overlooking some really obvious reason not to do this? Is there some harm I can do to my access to my bookmarks that I'm overlooking?

The only thing I can see is that on my iOS client, as I only recently switched to online storage of my passwords I still have (though obviously I can't get access to them for the moment!) both copies of my online vaults and the original vaults I created before I went to using 1Password.com to store my passwords. Following the delete-then-restore-from-online strategy I've described above I'd potentially lose access to those older offline-only vaults, but given that I copied their contents to the 1Password.com site already I can live without them if need be: they were really more evidence of my cautious instincts than actually useful vaults.

Does anyone have any better ideas about how to regain access to my passwords via the iOS client? Am I missing something really obvious here?

1Password Version: 7.2.2
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: iOS 12.1
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Ben
    Options

Hi @thebeard