Update to 7.2.4 removed Safari extension, can't reinstall a version that works.

Bill_Walker
Bill_Walker
Community Member

I'm running Mojave 10.14.2 on a 2012 MacBook Air, with Safari 12.0.2. I have a 1Password 7 subscription. This morning, 1Password auto-updated to 7.2.4, while Safari was open. After the update, the 1Password Extension was no longer installed in Safari. I went to 1Password, chose "Install Browser Extensions..." from the 1Password menu, and it took me to the downloads page at https://1password.com/downloads/mac/#browsers. I installed the extension from there. It shows version 4.7.3. I would have thought it would be 7.something. At any rate, when I try to use it, it's unable to connect to the 1Password app (it brings up this page: https://agilebits.com/browsers/welcome.html, asks for permission to open 1Password (even though it's open), and I grant it. I get switched to 1Password, and the web page says it couldn't connect.

Further, when I ask 1Password 7.2.4 to check for updates, nothing happens, as far as I can tell.

I tried quitting Safari and 1Password and rebooting the computer, and get the same results. So, this update has rendered 1Password nearly useless on my Mac.

1Password Version: 7.2.4
Extension Version: 4.7.3
OS Version: macOS 10.14.2
Sync Type: 1Password

Comments

• @Bill_Walker,

You definitely do not want to install the extension from the browsers page. There is no externally installable extension for Safari anymore. The Safari App Extension is part of the main 1Password application. You'll need to manually uninstall the 4.7.3 version and restart your computer to clear it out completely so that Safari can properly detect the one that is part of 1Password (as of 7.2).

• Bill_Walker
    Bill_Walker
    Community Member

Then why did "Install Browser Extensions..." take me to that page?

• @Bill_Walker,