Is iCloud sync truly any better than dropbox? And can I transfer a license to another person?

Options
alexandermag89
alexandermag89
Community Member

I just upgraded my license and just realized that I couldn't use iCloud sync.

I was wondering what, if any, are the distinct advantages of using iCloud over Dropbox?
(I am waiting for my iPhone 6 to come, and am running OS X Yosemite).

I am not going to ask for a refund just to get it on the App Store, but I am about to give my dad my old Macbook.
Is there any way that I can transfer my license, that I currently own, to him (and I would buy the mac store version of 1password 5)? (He uses some Norton vault thing, so he doesn't know what he is missing yet.)

Also, are there any plans to bring 1passwordanywhere to iCloud sync? (I have been using 1password for a couple of years now - since 3- and just found out about that bad ass feature!)

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @alexandermag89‌

For many I believe it comes down to preference. They want to use method x (my observations are sync methods is like asking people if they're a cat or dog person - usually quite strong opinions and I'm no different).

As somebody that doesn't use either sync method and prefers Wi-Fi this is reasonably unbiased view of the two.

• iCloud sync is Apple only. If you imagine needing to sync cross platform devices outside of the OS X/iOS ecosphere then iCloud is out.
    • Your iCloud sync data isn't visible like it is on Dropbox - so no 1PasswordAnywhere (sorry)
    • Dropbox allows you to share folders between Dropbox users
    • We currently only support secondary vaults on Dropbox. While that may change in the future you still won't be able to share those vaults with others on iCloud.